You Can Take the Girl Out of Newton: How I Plan to Convert to Judaism

31 Jan

thumbnail.asp

If only it were this easy.

Converting to Judaism is a process.  Every book and website on the topic will tell you that. I’m guessing every Rabbi will tell you the same. In Orthodox Judaism, conversion is as serious and holy as it can get, and can even involve not speaking with or seeing your spouse-to-be for an entire year while you go through the process. For many people the conversion falls somewhere between Orthodoxy and the instant spray depicted above. Though these days you can convert to Judaism online, and probably even find an ordained Rabbi to pronounce you a converted Jew for an untold price, I am not about to go down those roads.

Before I go any further, I’d like to announce the winning Rabbi from last week’s post, On Shopping for a Rabbi.  Votes have been cast and the results are in.  As of Wednesday, January 30 at 9:30 p.m. EST, 28 percent of voters chose Rabbi A, five percent chose Rabbi B, 50 percent chose Rabbi C and 17 percent chose “none of the above.”  If you chose Rabbi C, and most of you did….

You’re right!

Steve and I will be converting to Judaism at a large Reform Jewish synagogue in Manhattan.  It is convenient from both home and work. In New York City you sometimes need to be very practical about these things.  Along similar lines, the conversion program this synagogue offers seemed perfect–it’s all under one roof, the classes were to begin soon, and the timing of the classes themselves worked in our schedules. Let’s all hope Steve and I like the Rabbi when we meet her!

Beyond the rational and practical considerations, we really liked the woman we met with at the synagogue. Hopefully she represented and embodied the reality of the congregation and the conversion course accurately.  She was intellectual, funny and kind.  She seemed to understand what we are after pragmatically, while also displaying a genuine passion for her work and the mission of the program.  She made us feel like this could be an opportunity to grow intellectually, socially, and, yes, maybe even a little bit spiritually.   She told us about how the synagogue holds a Shabbat service on Friday nights aimed at a younger, hipper crowd and includes organ, guitar and other instruments.  Steve and I are musicophiles and had a particular fondness for the San Francisco Symphony’s film-house nights where they would show old movies (the original Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, for example) to the accompaniment of live organ music. You say organ we say when?! where?! We are a late 20s/early 30s couple going on 75.  Yes, we are that cool.

Her emphasis on the process being individualized was music to our ears (sorry, I have a horrible predilection for cheesy puns). It was really nice to hear that they take into consideration the background knowledge and personal experience of each individual undergoing the conversion process, rather than a one-size-fits-all approach. Growing up in Newton, attending countless Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, participating in Jewish holiday celebrations and, well, lying about being Jewish should count for something.  They should realize, on some level, that I am not going into this with total ignorance.

To summarize, converting to Judaism within the Reform denomination and at this particular synagogue will entail the following: attending weekly “Exploring Judaism” classes and meeting one-on-one with the Rabbi once or twice a month for the the next six months. When the class concludes, I will engage in an independent study under the Rabbi’s supervision and when I am deemed ready for conversion, I will be called before the Beit Din (the Rabbinic Court) to give a d’var Torah on my religious and spiritual autobiography and journey.  If the Beit Din approves, I will then enter the mikvah and emerge a Jew.  It will be summertime or maybe fall when all is said and done, but it doesn’t sound so bad, right?

***

In 2007, a NY Times article described the Amazing Girls of Newton North; the pressure to not only be Harvard-worthy smart, but to be an interesting individual, that existed within the walls of my high school. I was closer to graduating college than to my Newton days, but the article struck a nerve.

It was all too true.

As a teenager I routinely stayed up until 2 am doing my homework. I even pulled a few all-nighters studying and writing papers.  It was completely normal for friends to call after midnight to ask about the math homework. All this left in its wake a self-deprecating and often dark sense of humor (how else is one to survive something as absurd as this?), and the deep, tacit understanding that if I want to succeed, it must be painful. Competitive. A struggle. That I felt the imperative to be an overachiever in Newton is an understatement. (Note that I, and the author of the article, do not lump boys into this phenomenon. While it was indubitably challenging for my male classmates, Steve at least did not experience this).

I’ve often thought that if I woke up tomorrow in some kind of Twilight Zone dream and I was back in high school I wouldn’t be able to handle it a second time around. There were many, many tears over the agony and fear of not doing well enough.  When calculus or memorizing names and dates in history class came easily to me, I felt like something was wrong. Nothing worth doing can ever feel easy, I thought.

In many ways college was a breeze in comparison, and the culture was not so cut-throat.  Five years in San Francisco also had a mellowing-out effect and, though this is embarrassing to admit, I think I am now beginning to fully recover from the trauma of high school.  As it turns out, I’m not alone in feeling this way (read this recent NY Magazine article)

All this is to say that you can take the girl out of Newton, but you can’t take Newton out of the girl.

When I think about a Reform conversion, there is a part of me that feels the Newton-girl overachiever inside stir. Is Reform Judaism good enough? I sometimes wonder if I will ever really feel Jewish, and whether a Reform conversion will be tough enough. In Israel, Conservative and Reform conversions done outside the country are accepted, but only Orthodox conversions are accepted when done inside Israel. Still, among some of Steve’s extended family and other Orthodox Jews, a Reform conversion is not enough to be considered Jewish. As a matrilineal religion and culture, any children Steve and I may have in the future, no matter how many synagogue classes they might attend and no matter how devoted to God and Torah they may be, will not be considered Jews by many other Jews.

It would seem that to satisfy both Steve’s relatives and the Newton-girl inside me, I’d have to go through an Orthodox conversion. But, I am not, and I am more than OK with that decision.  There are philosophical and theological reasons why I feel Reform Judaism is right for me.  In my last post I wrote about how the denomination is appealing in it’s endeavor to incorporate traditional elements of Jewish practice within modern society, and it’s emphasis on being inclusive and accepting of all people. I believe that the route I am choosing is right for me and that it’s right for Steve and our relationship and lifestyle. I just hate the reputation Reform Judaism has as being somehow the weaker, diluted and not-quite-good-enough form of Judaism.  Or, maybe it’s just me who has that impression.  In the end I’m choosing to be happy and at peace with the decision: I’ve been the Newton-girl. I endured. I’m trying to be nicer to myself.

Depending on how the next six months unfold, taking additional Hebrew classes and even continuing to study Torah and become a Bat Mitzvah are not outside the realm of possibilities. In some ways, I want a Bat Mitzvah more than a wedding, and I always have. Perhaps only my sister will understand what I’m talking about here.

***

The “Convert to Judaism Instantly Spray” promises a quick and easy conversion, with the following description:

“Want to convert to Judaism without the hassle? Now’s your chance with Convert to Judaism Instantly Spray. Becoming one of the chosen people is now as easy as opening your mouth and pressing a button. Before you know it you will be craving bagels and understanding Yiddish. We tried to get this product endorsed by a Rabbi, but had no luck. Still, the spray has a refreshing minty taste and comes packaged as shown. See you in Synagogue!”

I know that the easy way out (the spray, the online conversion, the Vegas drive-thru) won’t work for me. I am an eternal proponent of  process over instantaneity. Whether this particular decision turns out to be the right one remains to be seen. Ain’t life grand?

Tell me! What do you think of my decision?

{image credit: Convert to Judaism Instantly Spray sold on stupid.com}

14 Responses to “You Can Take the Girl Out of Newton: How I Plan to Convert to Judaism”

  1. Melissa Cohen January 31, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    First – congratulations on your decision! I really agonized over which type of conversion to make, and ended up choosing a Conservative conversion for a couple of different reasons. The first would be that it was the synagogue that my husband had grown up with, and it was the one that my stepchildren were already attending, so it made sense to have my own children get their Jewish education there. But also – I had really wanted to do an Orthodox conversion, mainly because I didn’t want anyone to ever question whether or not my kids were “actually” Jewish. Conservative seemed like the best compromise, because I knew that I didn’t believe in strict Orthodox practices. But I think you’re right, Conservative seemed to be more respected, it would be accepted in Israel, and if, by chance, my children did grow up and want to join an Orthodox synagogue, my rabbi assured me that an Orthodox synagogue would be much more willing to accept them (with the caveat that they would have to go thru a pro forma “conversion” involving the mikvah, again, in order to be considered “Jewish” in Orthodox eyes. I loved the Reform tradition, and if it hadn’t been for my husband’s connection to the synagogue, and my own desire to have my kids’ religious credentials be as strong as possible (without doing the Orthodox conversion), I know I would have chosen Reform. It’s a hard, hard decision. And really, in the end, what matters is that you make the choice that you feel most comfortable with.

    • Convert Confidential February 3, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

      Melissa, thank you so much for your thoughtful and thought provoking comment. It was nice to hear that another person can sympathize with what a difficult decision this is to make. I sincerely hope this ends up being the right decision for me, but if we end up making changes years down the road, I wouldn’t be completely surprised. This is all such a journey, after all! You have such a nice blog, by the way. Do you want to swap links? I’ll post your url to my blog roll (link love page) and you can post mine to yours. Let me know, and thanks again for your comment and for reading. -Kate

      • Melissa Cohen February 4, 2013 at 11:18 am #

        Hi Kate – 

        I’d love to swap links – I added yours to my blog just now :-).     Melissa http://www.musingsofawritermom.blogspot.com/

        >________________________________ > From: Convert Confidential >To: melissa.cohen0214@yahoo.com >Sent: Sunday, February 3, 2013 9:16 PM >Subject: [New comment] You Can Take the Girl Out of Newton: How I Plan to Convert to Judaism > > > WordPress.com >Convert Confidential commented: “Melissa, thank you so much for your thoughtful and thought provoking comment. It was nice to hear that another person can sympathize with what a difficult decision this is to make. I sincerely hope this ends up being the right decision for me, but if we e” >

  2. Gary Oringer July 21, 2014 at 4:45 am #

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and test again here regularly.
    I’m rather certain I will learn plenty of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First Day of ‘Jew School’ « Convert Confidential - February 6, 2013

    […]  I did the reading because I am a good student and I am engaged in this process and I was once an amazing girl from Newton!  (I recognize that I will need to temper my competitive impulses […]

  2. First Impressions: We ‘Heart’ Our Rabbi « Convert Confidential - February 14, 2013

    […] it was too late.  I am supposedly this self-proclaimed  industrious and devoted-to-my-studies kind of person. I feel ashamed. I’ve fallen off the wagon. Mark my words now: I will not be a failure or […]

  3. Six Words, Five Things, Two Truths and a Lie | Convert Confidential - May 3, 2013

    […] so though I’ve shared some personal (and embarrassing) details in posts here, here and here, I believe that stories and sentiments are best communicated in these gut-wrenchingly embarrassing […]

  4. Converting to Judaism is Kinda Like Running a Half Marathon…Right? | Convert Confidential - May 24, 2013

    […] things–be it my job, my friendships, or this blog–very well. It can be a downer for a Newton-girl perfectionist like me. And, I often feel like the New Englander Alan Watts once wrote […]

  5. Just Like a Prayer | Convert Confidential - June 14, 2013

    […] beginning my conversion process I never engaged with the idea of God or prayer in a personal way. I never […]

  6. A Jewish Way to Be Gay | Convert Confidential - July 5, 2013

    […] In the past I’ve worried that with a Reform Jewish conversion I won’t be considered really Jewish by other Jews (and also non-Jews). Reform Judaism has the reputation of being the lesser and not-quite-as-Jewish of the denominations of Judaism. […]

  7. Israeli Couscous Summertime Salad | Convert Confidential - July 19, 2013

    […] know. Excuses, excuses. I’m not one to normally make […]

  8. The No-More-School Blues | Convert Confidential - August 1, 2013

    […] in January, the idea of committing to a weekly class for six months seemed a little extreme. It was an adjustment. Rush to leave work […]

  9. Just a Note about the Future | Convert Confidential - October 17, 2013

    […] goal (I gotta have a goal) is to publish a blog post twice a month. There might be months where it’s just one post. […]

  10. Just a Note About the Future… | Convert Confidential - October 18, 2013

    […] goal (I gotta have a goal) is to publish a blog post twice a month. There might be months where it’s just one post. There […]

Leave a comment